Seven Chakras

What are Chakras?

There are seven main chakras, or Energy Centers which are located around a different part of the body along the spine from the perineum to the crown of your head. Each chakra is associated with a particular color, element, central emotional/behavioral issue, as well as many other personal aspects including identity, goals, etc. 

What do Chakras do?

Chakras collect/generate energy and allow it to flow through us, which can affect our health, mood, relationships, physical world (wealth, etc.) and more.

Blockages in the Chakras can lead to a variety of issues. Keeping the Chakras balanced, open and aligned can improve our lives in many ways such as improved health, reduced stress, better mood, and more abundance. Practices such as meditation and yoga can help achieve this balance in our Chakras. 

What are the 7 Main Chakras?

7 chakras

Here’s a brief overview of the seven main chakras:

1 – Root Chakra: located at base of spine, this chakra is associated with the physical plane and relates to our sense of security and ability to meet basic needs.

2 – Sacral Chakra: located about 2 inches below the navel, it is associated with our emotions, relationships, sexuality and creativity. 

3 – Solar Plexus Chakra: located roughly 2 inches above the navel, this chakra relates to self esteem and empowerment and the ability to live our purpose.

4 – Heart Chakra: located at the center of the chest, the Heart Chakra lets us experience compassion and connection to ourselves and others.

5 – Throat Chakra: located at front of base of neck, it is associated with communications and speaking and hearing truth.

6 – Third Eye Chakra: located between the eyebrows, the 3rd Eye is associated with intuition and the ability to see past the physical plane.

7 – Crown Chakra: located at the top and center of the head, this chakra is associated with the divine meaning of life, and affects spirituality, values and more.

This is a very brief overview, and we will cover each chakra in more detail in future posts.

For more information about balancing your chakras, check this program out.